SearchMaxx > Blog > Comparisons

Ahrefs vs Semrush vs Moz: which should a startup pick in 2026?

For most startups starting to publish content, pick Semrush. Its $139 SEO plan includes keyword and competitor research, rank tracking and AI visibility reports in one bill. Pick Ahrefs if backlinks are the core of your work and you can pay $249 a month for unlimited credits. Pick Moz only if you mainly need rank tracking and AI prompt tracking on a small budget, because its cheaper plans limit keyword research.

Every number below comes from each vendor's own pricing, help or data pages, as of October 2026. The index sizes are what each company reports about itself. We have not run our own accuracy test.

Side by side

Feature Ahrefs Semrush Moz Pro
Cheapest paid plan Starter, $29/mo SEO, $139/mo Starter, $49/mo, one site
Main small-team plan Lite, $129/mo SEO, $139/mo, or Starter, $199/mo Standard, $99/mo
Billed yearly "Save up to 17%" $117.33/mo (SEO), $165.17/mo (Starter) $79/mo (Standard), $143/mo (Medium)
Next plan up Standard, $249/mo Pro+, $299/mo Medium, $179/mo
Users included 1; on Lite, up to 2 more at $40/mo each Not stated; extra users from $45/mo 1 on Standard, 2 on Medium, 3 on Large
Projects or sites 5 (Lite) 5 (SEO and Starter) 3 (Standard)
Tracked keywords 750 (Lite) 500 (SEO and Starter) 300 (Standard)
Research limits 1,000 credits per user on Lite; unlimited from Standard SEO plan's research tools described as "basic" 150 keyword queries and 5,000 backlink queries a month on Standard
History 6 months (Lite), 2 years (Standard) Historical SEO data from Pro+ Not stated on pricing page
Backlink index, self-reported 35 trillion external backlinks in history; 494 billion pages Over 43 trillion backlinks; 808 million domains Over 40 trillion links
Keyword database, self-reported 29 billion; 217 locations 28.8 billion; 142 country databases Over 1.25 billion
AI visibility on the main plan 5 tracked AI prompts (Lite) AI visibility reports for any domain; 50 prompts a day on Starter 150 prompts checked weekly across GPT, Gemini, Google AI Mode and Perplexity
Full AI visibility tool Brand Radar AI, add-on from $199/mo 100 prompts a day on Pro+ 300 prompts on Medium; extra prompts $50 per 100
Free option Free plan for your own verified sites Free plan, 10 reports a day; 7-day trial Free trial on Medium; free Keyword Explorer, Link Explorer and MozBar

Sources: Ahrefs pricing, Ahrefs Starter plan, Ahrefs data, Ahrefs Free, Semrush pricing, Semrush data, Moz Pro pricing.

Pricing: what you actually pay

Ahrefs looks cheapest at $29, but Starter is a sampler. It gives 200 credits a month, 1 month of history, 250 rows per report and 50 tracked keywords, with no exports and no extra users (Ahrefs help). The real starting point for a team is Lite at $129. Lite's limit is credits. Opening a report costs 1 credit, and each new filter or date range costs another (Ahrefs help). Standard at $249 removes the credit limit.

Semrush starts at $139 a month for the SEO plan, or $117.33 billed yearly. That covers 5 websites, 500 tracked keywords, a site audit and AI visibility reports. Starter at $199 adds 50 tracked AI prompts a day and MCP access for AI assistants. Pro+ at $299 adds historical data, 15 websites and 1,500 tracked keywords (Semrush).

Moz Pro is cheapest for a full plan. Standard costs $99 a month, or $79 billed yearly. Medium costs $179 and is the first plan with two users (Moz).

Data: backlinks and keywords

Ahrefs and Semrush report indexes of similar size: around 29 billion keywords each, and tens of trillions of links (Ahrefs, Semrush). Each company counts links its own way, so a bigger number on one page does not prove more useful data. Ahrefs says its live backlink index updates "every 15–30 minutes". Semrush says its crawler visits about 10 billion pages a day.

Moz reports over 40 trillion links but a much smaller keyword index, at over 1.25 billion keywords (Moz).

The useful test is your own market. During a trial, look up three competitors you know well. Check whether each tool finds the links and keywords you already know they have.

AI visibility features

All three now track whether AI assistants mention a brand. They do it differently.

  • Ahrefs splits it in two. Every paid plan from Lite tracks a few prompts you choose: 5 on Lite, 10 on Standard, 20 on Advanced. Brand Radar AI, from $199 a month, searches a database Ahrefs puts at about 486 million prompts a month across AI Overviews, AI Mode, ChatGPT, Copilot, Gemini and Perplexity (Ahrefs, Ahrefs data). It is the broadest view of the three, and the most expensive.
  • Semrush builds AI visibility into its plans. The SEO plan includes AI visibility reports for any domain and custom prompt monitoring. Starter tracks 50 prompts a day and adds 300 AI visibility reports a day (Semrush).
  • Moz includes the most tracked prompts at the lowest price: 150 on Standard. It checks them weekly, not daily, across GPT, Gemini, Google AI Mode and Perplexity, and adds sentiment and citation data (Moz).

These tools show whether an assistant names you. They do not show why it skips you. A common reason is that the assistant's crawler cannot read the page at all. Our guides on AI crawlers in robots.txt and AI crawlers and JavaScript cover the two most common causes.

The limits that bite

  • Ahrefs Lite: credits. 1,000 credits per user sounds like a lot until each filter costs one. Heavy researchers hit the cap.
  • Semrush SEO: depth. Semrush calls the SEO plan's keyword and competitor research "basic". You also wait until Pro+ for historical data.
  • Moz Standard: keyword queries. 150 a month is a few research sessions. Medium raises it to 5,000.

Which one to pick

Your situation Pick Why
Pre-launch or no one owns SEO None yet Google Search Console and Ahrefs Free cover your own site for $0
One marketer starting a content plan Semrush SEO or Starter Research, rank tracking and AI visibility on one bill
Link building or digital PR is the main job Ahrefs Standard Unlimited credits and a backlink index updated every 15 to 30 minutes, per Ahrefs
You want broad AI search data across many prompts Ahrefs with Brand Radar AI The largest prompt database of the three, at $199 a month on top of a plan
Small budget, mainly tracking ranks and AI mentions Moz Standard 150 AI prompts and 300 keywords for $99 a month
Two people need logins on a budget Moz Medium Two users included at $179 a month

Honest downsides

  • Ahrefs: the cheapest useful plan is $129, credits run out on Lite, and the full AI tool costs extra.
  • Semrush: the entry plan's research is limited, extra users cost $45 a month or more, and history starts on the $299 plan.
  • Moz: the keyword index is far smaller than the other two, Standard's research limits are tight, and AI prompts are checked weekly.

If none of these fits your budget, SE Ranking tracks more keywords and prompts for $129 a month. We compare it in Ahrefs alternatives. If you have not set up the free tools yet, start with our list of the best SEO tools for early-stage startups.

A suite tells you where you rank. It does not tell you whether AI crawlers can read your site. Our free check answers that in about 10 seconds.

Want this done for your site?

Roshan, founder of SearchMaxx

Every day we make one change to your website that helps AI engines name you, and a person checks each one. Email me your website and the question your buyers ask AI.

Email Roshan to get started

More from the blog

  1. The SearchMaxx experiment, day 0: growing a new site in public

    Oct 18, 2026 - searchmaxx.link is a new domain. It has no Google traffic and no links. We will grow it with the same work we sell, and publish the numbers every week.

    searchmaxx.link/blog/searchmaxx-experiment-day-0 - Experiment - 2 min read

  2. Case study: 515 to 2,573 Google clicks a day in 12 weeks

    Oct 17, 2026 - Real Google Search Console numbers from an open-source AI company. In the top 1,000 queries, 66% of clicks came from searches without the brand name.

    searchmaxx.link/blog/case-study-5x-google-clicks - Case studies - 2 min read

  3. AI crawlers don't run JavaScript. Here's how to see what they see

    Oct 16, 2026 - ChatGPT's, Claude's and Perplexity's crawlers read the HTML your server sends and skip the JavaScript. If your words only appear after JavaScript runs, those engines see an empty page.

    searchmaxx.link/blog/ai-crawlers-javascript - Guides - 2 min read

  4. Which AI crawlers to allow in robots.txt, and which only collect training data

    Oct 15, 2026 - OpenAI, Anthropic, Perplexity and Google each run several bots. Some put you in AI search answers and some only collect training data. Here is which is which, and a robots.txt you can copy.

    searchmaxx.link/blog/ai-crawlers-robots-txt - Guides - 3 min read